Leakesville Home

sunflower county, ms

Welcome to Leakesville

About Sunflower County

Sunflower County is a county located in the Mississippi Delta region of the U.S. state of Mississippi. As of 2012, the population was 28,431. Its largest city and county seat is Indianola. The Indianola Micropolitan Statistical Area includes all of Sunflower County.

Population and Statistics​

Sunflower County was created in 1844. The land mass encompassed most of Sunflower and Leflore Counties as we know them today. The first seat of government was Clayton, located near Fort Pemberton. Later the county seat was moved to McNutt, also in the Leflore County of today. When Sunflower and Leflore Counties were separated in 1871, the new county seat for Sunflower County was moved to Johnsonville. This village was located where the north end of Mound Bayou empties into the Sunflower River. In 1882 the county seat was moved to Eureka, which was later renamed Indianola (Hemphill, Marie M. 1980. Fevers, Floods and Faith—A History of Sunflower County Mississippi, 1844–1976).

Sunflower County Map

Sunflower County Economic Development District
112 South MLK Drive
P.O. Box 1508
Indianola, Mississippi 38751
662.887.3737 Office