Skip to main content
The official website of the State of Mississippi
Sunflower field , Sunflower County Courthouse


to Sunflower County, Mississippi

About Sunflower County

Sunflower County was formed 15 Feb 1844 from Bolivar County. It was named for the Sunflower River which flows through it. The initial county seat was established at McNutt and the county's original boundaries were defined as:

"Beginning at the corner of townships 24 and 25, or ranges 4 and 5 west, thence east between townships 24 and 25 to the line between ranges 2 and 3 west; thence south between ranges 2 and 3 west to the line between townships 21 and 22; thence east between townships 21 and 22 to the Tallahatchie River; thence down the Tallahatchie river, and down the Yazoo River to the point where the old Choctaw boundary line intersects it; thence with the said boundary line north, forty-six degrees west, to the point where the line between ranges 4 and 5 west intersects that line; thence north with the line between ranges 4 and 5 west, to the place of beginning."

Click here to learn more! 

Sunflower County

P.O. Box 988 

200 Main Street                       

Indianola, Mississippi 38751

Office: 662.887.2881